Media reports

Press center Media reports Gallery
1. Medienbericht 2. Medienbericht Media text - Final report

The current situation is as open as rarely before

On Sunday the world championship titles in the discipline Mountainbike Marathon will be awarded in Grächen. In Valais there will be a comparison between long-distance and cross-country specialists. From a Swiss perspective, Ariane Lüthi, Urs Huber and Mathias Flückiger have the best prospects.

Names say a lot, but not everything. Thus the name Pauline Ferrand-Prévot catches the eye of the viewer of the participant list on the occasion of the Marathon World Championships in Grächen. The French rider, who became Cross Country World Champion at the end of August, will undoubtedly be one of the favourites on Sunday. However, it is uncertain how the 27-year-old will cope with the driving time of four hours at the end of a long season. Normally, her races last 90 minutes. On the other hand Ferrand-Prévot celebrated herself as road world champion in 2014. Five years ago she had been on the road in Spain for three and a half hours.

The starting position is open as seldom before, because of the long-time dominators of the scene only the 47-year-old cross-country Olympic champion Sabine Spitz and the Swiss Esther Süss are at the start. The five- and six-time World Champions Annika Langvad and Gunn-Rita Dahle, respectively, are not there, and last year's third Maja Wloszczowska from Poland is also missing. The long-distance specialists Bettina Janas from Germany and Katazina Sosna from Lithuania have plenty of potential.
Switzerland's national champion Ariane Lüthi has the best chances. Former world champion Süss is still one of the top players, but at the age of 45 she has reached the late autumn of her career. In the narrower sense, Florence Darbellay benefits from her home advantage. The Valaisan, number 3 in the world rankings, needs to be kept in mind.

Geismayr - and two Swiss For men, the statistics speak for Daniel Geismayr. In 2017, the Austrian finished third in German singing near the Swiss border. In 2018, he only had to give way to the Brazilian Henrique Avancini in the Dolomites, who did not compete in Grächen. Geismayr is 30 years old, almost a youngster in the long distance scene, and he recently presented himself in excellent shape. Hector Leonardo Paez from Colombia, who finished third last year, is probably one of last year's strongest competitors.

Anyone looking for the male counterpart to Ferrand-Prévot in the starting list will end up with a Swiss. Certainly, there are several established cross-country specialists registered, namely Ondrej Cink, David Valero Serrano and Jordan Sarrou. Mathias Flückiger, silver medallist at the World Championships in Mont Sainte-Anne despite a defect, bears the most famous name. In his case, this name says a bit more than Ferrand-Prévot's, because the man from Berne is preparing specifically for the marathon World Championships and has therefore missed the last World Cup race in the USA. A year ago, the 30-year-old had finished fourth in Auronzo, but without any specific preparation.

Urs Huber is less well known in Germany than Flückiger, but he is a fixed star in the marathon scene. The 34-year-old from Zurich has only just won the national championship title for the fifth time, in the world ranking he even ranks first. The prospects for the host country could also be worse.

>

Rapports des médias

Inscription Centre de presse Reportages des médias Galerie
1. Medienbericht 2. Medienbericht Texte pour les médias - Rapport final

Plus ouvert que jamais

Les titres de champions du monde de la discipline VTT marathon seront attribués dimanche à Grächen. Ces joutes en Valais ressemblent à une passe d’armes entre spécialistes de longue distance et de cross-country. Ariane Lüthi, Urs Huber et Mathias Flückiger sont les principaux atouts côté suisse.

Les noms signifient beaucoup, mais ils ne font pas tout. L’attention des observateurs sera sans doute attirée par celui de Pauline Ferrand-Prévot sur la liste des participants aux Mondiaux de VTT marathon à Grächen. Sacrée championne du monde de cross-country à la fin août, la Française fera à n’en pas douter partie des favorites ce dimanche. Mais rien ne dit que l’athlète de 27 ans parviendra à réitérer son exploit au terme d’une longue saison, qui plus est avec un temps de parcours de quatre heures environ. Ses courses durent généralement 90 minutes. Ferrand-Prévot est toutefois devenue championne du monde sur route en 2014. Il y a cinq ans, en Espagne, la course avait duré trois heures et demie.

La situation initiale est plus ouverte que jamais, car parmi les dominatrices de longue date de la scène internationale, seules la championne olympique de cross-country Sabine Spitz (aujourd’hui âgée de 47 ans) et la Suissesse Esther Süss seront au départ. Les multiples championnes du monde Annika Langvad (cinq titres) et Gunn-Rita Dahle (six titres) seront absentes, tout comme la 3e de l’an dernier, la Polonaise Maja Wloszczowska. Les spécialistes de longue distance que sont l’Allemande Bettina Janas et la Lituanienne Katazina Sosna disposent aussi du potentiel pour se mêler à la lutte.

Dans les rangs suisses, la championne nationale Ariane Lüthi semble la mieux armée en vue d’une médaille. L’ancienne championne du monde Esther Süss (45 ans) fait certes toujours partie de l’élite élargie, mais arrive peu à peu en fin de carrière. Florence Darbellay profitera elle, au sens propre, de l’avantage du terrain. Il faudra suivre de près la Valaisanne, qui occupe actuellement le 3e rang du classement mondial.

Geismayr – et deux Suisses Chez les hommes, les chiffres parlent en faveur de Daniel Geismayr. En 2017, l’Autrichien a terminé 3e à Singen (All), près de la frontière suisse. En 2018, dans les Dolomites, il n’a dû s’avouer vaincu que devant le Brésilien Henrique Avancini, qui ne sera pas présent à Grächen. A 30 ans, Geismayr fait partie des plus jeunes athlètes longue distance. Récemment, il a prouvé qu’il se trouvait dans une excellente forme. Parmi ses rivaux principaux, on peut citer le Colombien Hector Leonardo Paez, 3e l’an dernier.

La liste des participants contient aussi le pendant masculin de Ferrand-Prévot en la personne d’un Suisse. Certes, plusieurs spécialistes du cross-country bien établis seront au départ, à savoir Ondrej Cink, David Valero Serrano et Jordan Sarrou. Le plus célèbre d’entre eux reste toutefois Mathias Flückiger, récent médaillé d’argent aux Championnats du monde à Mont Sainte-Anne malgré un incident mécanique. Son nom en dit d’ailleurs un peu plus long que celui de Ferrand-Prévot, puisque le Bernois a concentré sa préparation sur ces Mondiaux de marathon, comme en témoigne son impasse sur la dernière épreuve de Coupe du monde aux Etats-Unis. L’an dernier, le Bernois de 30 ans avait terminé 4e à Auronzo sans s’être préparé spécifiquement pour ces joutes.

Moins connu à l’échelle nationale que Flückiger, Urs Huber est pourtant une star sur la scène du marathon. Le Zurichois de 34 ans a décroché son cinquième titre de champion national et occupe même la place de No 1 mondial. Les perspectives du pays hôte pourraient clairement être plus mauvaises.

>