Media reports

Press center Media reports Gallery
1. Medienbericht 2. Medienbericht Media text - Final report

The current situation is as open as rarely before

On Sunday the world championship titles in the discipline Mountainbike Marathon will be awarded in Grächen. In Valais there will be a comparison between long-distance and cross-country specialists. From a Swiss perspective, Ariane Lüthi, Urs Huber and Mathias Flückiger have the best prospects.

Names say a lot, but not everything. Thus the name Pauline Ferrand-Prévot catches the eye of the viewer of the participant list on the occasion of the Marathon World Championships in Grächen. The French rider, who became Cross Country World Champion at the end of August, will undoubtedly be one of the favourites on Sunday. However, it is uncertain how the 27-year-old will cope with the driving time of four hours at the end of a long season. Normally, her races last 90 minutes. On the other hand Ferrand-Prévot celebrated herself as road world champion in 2014. Five years ago she had been on the road in Spain for three and a half hours.

The starting position is open as seldom before, because of the long-time dominators of the scene only the 47-year-old cross-country Olympic champion Sabine Spitz and the Swiss Esther Süss are at the start. The five- and six-time World Champions Annika Langvad and Gunn-Rita Dahle, respectively, are not there, and last year's third Maja Wloszczowska from Poland is also missing. The long-distance specialists Bettina Janas from Germany and Katazina Sosna from Lithuania have plenty of potential.
Switzerland's national champion Ariane Lüthi has the best chances. Former world champion Süss is still one of the top players, but at the age of 45 she has reached the late autumn of her career. In the narrower sense, Florence Darbellay benefits from her home advantage. The Valaisan, number 3 in the world rankings, needs to be kept in mind.

Geismayr - and two Swiss For men, the statistics speak for Daniel Geismayr. In 2017, the Austrian finished third in German singing near the Swiss border. In 2018, he only had to give way to the Brazilian Henrique Avancini in the Dolomites, who did not compete in Grächen. Geismayr is 30 years old, almost a youngster in the long distance scene, and he recently presented himself in excellent shape. Hector Leonardo Paez from Colombia, who finished third last year, is probably one of last year's strongest competitors.

Anyone looking for the male counterpart to Ferrand-Prévot in the starting list will end up with a Swiss. Certainly, there are several established cross-country specialists registered, namely Ondrej Cink, David Valero Serrano and Jordan Sarrou. Mathias Flückiger, silver medallist at the World Championships in Mont Sainte-Anne despite a defect, bears the most famous name. In his case, this name says a bit more than Ferrand-Prévot's, because the man from Berne is preparing specifically for the marathon World Championships and has therefore missed the last World Cup race in the USA. A year ago, the 30-year-old had finished fourth in Auronzo, but without any specific preparation.

Urs Huber is less well known in Germany than Flückiger, but he is a fixed star in the marathon scene. The 34-year-old from Zurich has only just won the national championship title for the fifth time, in the world ranking he even ranks first. The prospects for the host country could also be worse.

>

Medienberichte

Registrierung Pressezentrum Medienberichte Galerie
1. Medienbericht 2. Medienbericht Medientext – Schlussbericht

Die Ausgangslage ist offen wie selten zuvor

Am Sonntag werden in Grächen die Weltmeistertitel in der Disziplin Mountainbike Marathon vergeben. Im Wallis kommt es zum Vergleich zwischen Langdistanz- und Cross-Country-Spezialisten. Aus Schweizer Sicht verfügen Ariane Lüthi, Urs Huber und Mathias Flückiger über die besten Perspektiven.

Namen sagen viel, aber nicht alles. So sticht dem Betrachter der Teilnehmerliste anlässlich der Marathon-WM in Grächen der Name Pauline Ferrand-Prévot ins Auge. Die Französin, Ende August Cross-Country-Weltmeisterin geworden, gehört am Sonntag zweifelsfrei zum Kreis der Favoritinnen. Wobei ungewiss ist, wie die 27-Jährige am Ende einer langen Saison mit der Fahrzeit von vier Stunden zurechtkommen wird. Normalerweise dauern ihre Einsätze 90 Minuten. Anderseits liess sich Ferrand-Prévot 2014 als Strassen-Weltmeisterin feiern. Vor fünf Jahren war sie in Spanien dreieinhalb Stunden unterwegs gewesen.

Die Ausgangslage ist offen wie selten zuvor, weil von den langjährigen Dominatorinnen der Szene nur die mittlerweile 47-jährige Cross-Country-Olympiasiegerin Sabine Spitz und die Schweizerin Esther Süss am Start stehen. Die fünf- respektive sechsfachen Weltmeisterinnen Annika Langvad und Gunn-Rita Dahle sind nicht dabei, die Vorjahresdritte Maja Wloszczowska aus Polen fehlt ebenfalls. Über reichlich Potenzial verfügen die Langdistanzspezialistinnen Bettina Janas aus Deutschland und Katazina Sosna aus Litauen.

Schweizerseits werden Landesmeisterin Ariane Lüthi die besten Chancen eingeräumt. Ex-Weltmeisterin Süss gehört noch immer zur erweiterten Spitze, ist mit 45 Jahren aber im Spätherbst ihrer Karriere angelangt. Im engeren Sinn vom Heimvorteil profitiert Florence Darbellay. Die Walliserin, in der Weltrangliste die Nummer 3, gilt es im Auge zu behalten.

Geismayr – und zwei Schweizer Bei den Männern spricht die Statistik für Daniel Geismayr. 2017 wurde der Österreicher im deutschen Singen nahe der Schweizer Grenze Dritter, 2018 musste er in den Dolomiten einzig dem in Grächen nicht antretenden Brasilianer Henrique Avancini den Vortritt lassen. Geismayr ist 30-jährig, in der Langdistanz-Szene damit schon fast ein Jungspund, und er präsentierte sich zuletzt in ausgezeichneter Verfassung. Zu den stärksten Konkurrenten dürfte der letztjährige Dritte Hector Leonardo Paez aus Kolumbien gehören.

Wer in der Startliste das männliche Pendant zu Ferrand-Prévot sucht, landet bei einem Schweizer. Gewiss, es sind diverse arrivierte Cross-Country-Spezialisten gemeldet, namentlich Ondrej Cink, David Valero Serrano und Jordan Sarrou. Mathias Flückiger, an der WM in Mont Sainte-Anne trotz eines Defekts Silbermedaillengewinner, trägt den bekanntesten Namen. In seinem Fall sagt dieser Name ein bisschen mehr als bei Ferrand-Prévot, weil sich der Berner gezielt auf die Marathon-WM vorbereitet, deshalb das letzte Weltcuprennen in den USA ausgelassen hat. Vor Jahresfrist war der 30-Jährige in Auronzo Vierter geworden, damals jedoch ohne spezifische Vorbereitung.

Urs Huber ist hierzulande weniger bekannt als Flückiger, in der Marathonszene dafür ein Fixstern. Der 34-jährige Zürcher hat eben erst zum fünften Mal den nationalen Meistertitel gewonnen, in der Weltrangliste steht er sogar auf Platz 1. Die Aussichten des Gastgeberlandes könnten auch schlechter sein.

>